Exponent Foldables

What is it about exponents that make students think that two cubed is the same as two times six?! Exponents are one of those things that students think are SO easy when they are introduced and the next day they go to work on their do nows and all the sudden they think that they can just multiply the base by the power.

This year with my 6th graders we made exponent foldable cards. I cut strips of construction paper and we made the first few together. Students took paper home and created 2 of their own for homework that night.

To make these, take a strip of paper and choose a base and power to work with.

Fold the strip of paper like an accordion so that it is divided into equal sections. Make sure there are enough sections for the power plus 2 extras.

On the first fold, write the base and the power.

On the inside folds, write the power in expanded  form /product of factors.

On the last flap, write the answer.

On the back write it in word form.

Students can use these to study or quiz their classmates. I hope you can use these in your classroom!

Enjoy!
Kate

12 responses to “Exponent Foldables

  1. LOVE it! What a great way to use a foldable to teach exponents. I will definitely borrow this.

    ~Stephanie
    Teaching in Room 6

  2. Such a great idea! I recently found your blog and love it! Thanks for sharing.

  3. This is wonderful…thanks for sharing! I have the same exponent issue in my classroom. Go figure!

  4. Super idea!! :) I’m all about foldables.

  5. These are amazing. This is one of the things that no matter what I do, my students still struggle. I am trying these next! Thanks!

    Oh & I’m not sure what my problem is but I can’t figure out how to follow your blog. I love it and I feel like I’m missing all the fun. Is the only way to get updates through my Google Reader?

  6. I just used this in my 5th grade classroom. Great idea! The students loved making this,

  7. I know this was posted a while ago, but I just found it and I LOVE it! I’m planning on using this in my classroom tomorrow, and I gave you a shout out on my blog for such an awesome idea! I’m your newest follower. Thanks!

    http://www.theteacherwhohatedmath.blogspot.com

    ~Brittany~

  8. This is great! We will be using it in our homeschool. I love your blog!

  9. Pingback: Teaching Two » Practicing Exponents

  10. My students are going to love this!

Leave a Reply

