Decimal of the Day

I may or may not dread teaching decimals. I feel like when I get my 6th graders, they should know way more about decimals than they ever remember. One activity I do during my decimal chapter, which is at the beginning of the year, is DECIMAL OF THE DAY!

I am the 6th grade homeroom teacher so I do this activity every morning before prayer and announcements, but it could be used at the beginning of class too. Each morning there is a decimal posted on the SMARTboard, as well as an “extra question” that has to do with whatever skill we are working on in class (comparing and ordering, operations with decimals, etc). Students take a decimal of the day worksheet and complete it using the posted decimal. Click on the picture to download the PDF.

To encourage my students even further, as if building their knowledge of decimals isn’t enough, I give each student a raffle ticket if they complete the Decimal of the Day worksheet correctly. Each week I pull raffle tickets and students can choose from small prizes. Click on the picture to download the PDF.

11 responses to “Decimal of the Day

  1. Very interesting points you have mentioned, thanks for putting up.

  2. Great Idea! Do you have a .doc file for this worksheet? I’d love to alter it and have the kids convert a fraction to a decimal and percent (and vice-versa) as a daily warm up! 🙂

  3. I’d like the .doc file as well, if you could e-mail it to me too! 🙂

  4. Being able to convert it to fraction and percent would be right up our alley as well. So if you are still willing to share that .doc file, I’d appreciate it. 🙂 Thanks!

  5. Pingback: Upper Grades Number of the Day- Giveaway! | tothesquareinch

  6. Could I please have a copy of the .doc file as well?

  7. This is great! Thank you for sharing!! 🙂 If you’re willing to share, I’d like a copy of the .doc file, too.

  8. Pingback: Decimal of the Day « Dr. Nicki's Guided Math Blog

  9. Thank you. This is a great idea to use in my math class. I also teach 6 grade math and I am always looking for different ideas to incorporate within my lesson.

Leave a Reply

