Fruit Loop Ratios

I live this life where one of my main goals is to convince my students that math is cool and awesome and hott (with 2 t’s). One thing that gets (most) of my students engaged in the lesson is FOOD. You would think that these kids don’t eat ever, but I mean I see most of them eating breakfast as they walk in in the morning and every week when I do lunch duty I am SHOCKED by the amount of food and snacks  they consume in one sitting. When I think of a math activity that combines food (especially when I can easily find a peanut-free snack to use) AND actual learning, I fall in love with the activity! I did this activity for the first time last year and my students loved it too! Bonus: they actual remembered the activity when they were taking their ratio test…they actual remembered ratios when we reviewed them this year!

Each student got a paper plate with a handful of Fruit Loops and a worksheet. Students had to complete their work before they could eat their cereal, which motivated them to finish an assignment in a period instead of trying to convince me to drag it out for three periods.

Click on the picture below to download the worksheet! Enjoy!

10 responses to “Fruit Loop Ratios

  1. I just found your blog through Secondary Solutions. I have taught middle school math for 14 years. You have great ideas! I have used Fruit Loops before and did something similar last year. I LOVE your gumdrop idea. I plan on using it when school resumes. Hope you have a greay New Year!

  2. I love this! It is just up my alley and part of the upcoming unit. I am going to be borrowing this idea for sure.

    ~Stephanie
    Teaching in Room 6

  3. I will be teaching ratios next week! Would love to use this!!

  4. Pingback: Sweet Exploring Ratios Worksheet | tothesquareinch

  5. What a sweet way to teach ratios!! 🙂

    By the way, I have a proposition/idea for you–shoot me an email!! froggycupcakes {at} gmail {dot} com.

    Janaye

  6. This is an awesome blog! I just went all the way throughout and found so many neat things to do with my 7th graders!
    Thanks!!!

  7. This is so cute! I’m sure you’re a fabulous teacher!

Leave a Reply

