Variable Matching Game

As an introduction to writing variable expressions, I had each student in my class choose a card out of a basket. I had verbal expressions and their matching algebraic expressions printed on card stock. Students had 3 minutes to find their expression twin. Students then read their pairs and the class decided if they were correct. If students chose the wrong partner, the class decided who their twin should be. This activity could also be a great stations activity or small group activity. I copied the verbal expressions on orange paper and the written expressions on green so that the student knew what color they were looking for. Click on the picture below to download the activity!

Variable Expression Matching Cards

Enjoy!

Kate

2 responses to “Variable Matching Game

  1. Oh how cute! I do matching tasks with my boys and they always love it!

  2. This is just perfect! I love it…and will be borrowing it for sure!

Leave a Reply

