Right now you need to be at a…

As I know most of you do, I am constantly using collaborative and cooperative activities in my class. In my math room my students sit in clusters of 4 or 5 and have lab partners and groups in the science lab. One thing I saw floating around in the teacher blog world this summer was volume level posters. I created my own, that fits my classroom, and I use it daily.

Each class has one or two kids that ALWAYS remind me to change the volume level depending on what we are doing. I took a clothespin and glued a foam glitter star on it to indicate what level the class should be on.

In the beginning of the year, each class models the different levels and, with a few reminders throughout the year, it has worked pretty well. I photocopied it onto my favorite Astrobrights cardstock (seriously, buy it from Michael’s with a 40% off coupon) and laminated it. Click on the picture below to download the PDF.

Enjoy!

Kate

7 responses to “Right now you need to be at a…

  1. I’ll be downloading this for sure!

  2. I love this–I have been trying to come up with something I could use in my classroom. Thanks for the idea!

    W

  3. I love this! I also love Astrobrights…it’s the best bright paper!
    Kristen

  4. I absolutely love the star clothespin idea! I have volume level posters in my classroom…but I absolutely NEED to add a movable selector. 🙂

  5. Cute idea, but do they ever still get carried away? My students usually start out at an appropriate level, but tend to get loud as the activity goes on.

    • Yes they almost always get carried away (especially in the science lab when they get excited haha), but if necessary, I get the whole classes attention, review the levels and let them get started again.

  6. Pingback: #made4math #2 | thenumbertwentyone

Leave a Reply

