Scholastic Decimal Activity

My students LOVE Scholastic Book Orders (wait, who doesn’t?) When I was teaching adding and subtracting decimals, I decided to let them use their book orders to practice. Students had different tasks to complete using the retail prices (the Scholastic prices didn’t have decimals!).

Yay!! BOOK ORDERS!!!!

This is a great centers activity or cooperative group activity. It was a big hit! The kids especially liked the challenge of buying as many books as possible for under $25. Click on the picture below for the PDF.

Enjoy!

Kate

8 responses to “Scholastic Decimal Activity

  1. Thank you Kate! I just downloaded this, it will be perfect for my class!!! I love love love your blog!
    Kristen

  2. What a GREAT idea! My kids love the book orders (who am I kidding – so do I!!!).

    Jen
    Runde’s Room

  3. I am obsessed with Scholastic book orders! I order way too much from them with my own money! I just sent one home on Friday and am hoping to get some serious bonus points! I still might have to incorporate this idea into my LA class somehow!

    Miss Klohn
    Adventures of a 6th Grade Teacher

  4. What a great idea! I think my students would enjoy some hypothetical shopping 🙂

    Brittany
    Ms. Green Apple

  5. Love this! What a great way to use those left over magazines. (on a side note, do you find that Scholastic sends a million of them?? I seriously am overrun…maybe I will send some to you! 😉 )

    ~Stephanie
    Teaching in Room 6

  6. Thanks, Kate! This will be a perfect activity for my 4th graders when we practice adding decimals. SOOO much better and more meaningful than just doing a math worksheet! Thanks again!:)

Leave a Reply

