Fossil Scavenger Hunt

At the beginning of the month, I was searching for ideas to finish up my Simple Machines chapter with my 6th graders. The chapter had been interrupted by Christmas break and planning for the Science Expo. The kids were bored, I was bored (ok, sorry! I love Earth Science and Chemistry! And Mendelian Genetics! I can’t help it!!). I stumbled across the Simple Machines: Hunting for Facts game over at Dots-N-Spots and I knew my kids would love it! My students were completely engaged and did a great job with it. They were BEGGING me to make another one for our next chapter!

My 7th graders got wind of the idea and were PISSED that I didn’t have one for them. So, last weekend, I created the FOSSIL FACTS SCAVENGER HUNT! I completely ripped the idea off of Becky— I hope she doesn’t mind. I typed up 28 facts about fossils from the student’s textbook. I printed them on cardstock and laminated them. I asked 2 of my awesome 8th grade girls to hide them all around my science lab.

The students were then given a partner and were instructed to find each clue (order didn’t matter) and answer the question with the corresponding number. The catch: they had to be silent! They could use any nonverbal means to communicate, but they could NOT talk or they would be disqualified (did I mention there was not prize– unless you count a fossils quiz as a prize?!). I teach an American Sign Language after school class so a few of the girls who took my class decided that they would use sign language to communicate (which totally didn’t happen…because we didn’t learn words like permineralized and sediment…we learned words like dog and family).

It took almost an entire period for the students to get all 28 facts! The next day, each student found 1 or 2 facts and got to share the facts and their answers. My 7th graders absolutely loved this activity and can’t wait to do it again. I urge you to go check out Becky’s post about her simple machines version! If you teach fossils, check out the version I made. Click on the picture below for the 9(!) page PDF that includes the fact cards and the scavenger hunt.

One more thing! I have been getting some comments asking for original files. I totally understand that sometimes you find something online and have to tweak  it a little to make it work for you class. For now, I am more than happy to send out .docx or .pptx files if you want them! The only thing is that if you don’t have the same fonts as I do, it may look a little weird. If there is ever anything you would like an original file, leave a comment with you e-mail and I will send it on over to you. I just ask that you {obviously} don’t sell any of the products that I made and if you are going to post them on your blog, just link back to me and give me credit 🙂 Thanks, my wonderful teachers!

Have a wonderful weekend! Off to our Chinese New Year Dragon Dance!

4 responses to “Fossil Scavenger Hunt

  1. How fun! I’m so glad your kiddos enjoyed it. Thanks for the shout out. I am in the middle of making/tweaking one for the solar system. Too bad I don’t teach fossils. 🙂

  2. Such a fun idea!! Looks like your kids had a blast!

    ~Stephanie

  3. This is fun! I did something similar integers earlier in the school year. I gave my students a list of expressions and posted solutions around the room. It gave a purpose to their practice, which was fun for them!

  4. I think this is AWESOME!!!! Thank you so much for sharing this information! I LOVE it.

Leave a Reply

