Multiplying and Dividing Exponents with the Same Base!

Today we had our Math Bee at school for Catholic Schools Week! It was super fun– my kids did awesome, but I had to organize and host the entire thing. I only made 2 (hahaha oops) mistakes reading the problems. I am glad it’s over…on to the Science Expo tomorrow, which I am also hosting. CSW is so fun for the kids– but exhausting for the teachers!

I am not sure if I have ever discussed my math instruction in my classroom. I have played around with a few different methods of instruction, but I always come back to some sort of guided notes. I only have approx. 35 minutes a day with my students including going over homework and have found that if students have guided notes, we get more math done and spend less time figuring out what to copy, write, etc. It is very time consuming for me to create the notes, but I know it is worth it! A bunch of my students from last year, who are in high school, still have their notebooks and use them as a reference for their Integrated Algebra class.

On my notes I always have the title in some fun font (of course! What kind of teacher blogger would I be if I didn’t?!), the objective, lesson number and a Do Now with questions pertaining to the previous topic. After the notes, homework is always recorded on the bottom of the notes sheet.

If you are teaching multiplying and dividing exponents with the same base, check out our guided notes that we used (I used these with my 7th and 8th graders)! I omitted the lesson number, Do Now and homework as it goes with our curriculum. Click on the picture below to download the PDF.

I have guided notes made on pretty much EVERY topic– I do teach grades 6-9 haha. If there is anything in particular you would like, leave me a comment and I will see what I have! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

