Blessing Bags

Happy Valentine’s Day! I hope everyone had a wonderful day at school, getting the kids all hyped up on sugar. Unfortunately Valentine’s Day in middle school means girls crying in the bathroom and having the unpleasant job of keeping kids off of each other. Haha no seriously.

I have a crazy busy week this week so I don’t know how regularly I will be able to post. I wanted to drop by quickly and let you guys know about an awesome service project we are doing. My dad commutes into NYC everyday. Each day, my mom makes a bagged lunch and my dad gives it to a homeless person in  Penn Station. Inspired by my awesome parents and this post about Blessing Bags, my friend and I, as the Student Council Advisors, started a collection of supplies to make Blessing Bags to hand out in NYC over Winter Break.

Each grade brought in a different item (juice boxes, mini bags of chips, hand sanitizer, etc.). And tomorrow the student council will be making individual lunch bags. Our school is small (just about 200 kids) and we have only been collecting items for 3 days. Look how amazingly generous the families at my school are:

I can’t wait to see how many lunches we are going to be able to make!

2 responses to “Blessing Bags

  1. This is the sweetest thing ever! Thanks for sharing!!

  2. Pingback: Happy Saturday! | tothesquareinch

Leave a Reply

