Continental Drift Introduction Lesson

I can’t take credit for this lesson, but it worked out really well so I figure I had to share. This lesson came from the Glencoe NYS 7th Grade Curriculum as a “Launch Lab” for the chapter about Continental Drift.

I cut out random pictures from a magazine for each student. Students then sat with their lab partners and tore their pictures to create their own puzzles. I told each student to make between 5 and 10 puzzle pieces.  The students switched puzzles and put them back together. I let the students switch partners a few times and put together different puzzles. Students then glued their own puzzles to the launch lab activity sheet that I created.

As a whole class, we discussed HOW we were able to put together our puzzles and what clues we used. Students worked independently to write a paragraph describing this. This week we will be learning more about continental drift and Wegener’s explanation.

Click on the picture below to download the PDF.

Enjoy!

3 responses to “Continental Drift Introduction Lesson

  1. You make middle school so much fun!!

  2. I love this idea! Thank you for sharing!

    Misty
    Think, Wonder, & Teach

  3. That is a great idea! I will have to find *some* way to use it in 5th grade….wheels turning……thanks for the inspiration!

    ~Stephanie
    Teaching in Room 6

    (PS…I am SO glad your kids enjoyed the Secret Code Math thing!)

Leave a Reply

