Seismic Waves Intro Activity

I love teaching Earthquakes! We actually felt the aftershocks of the earthquake in Virginia this summer, so for once, most of my students have some background knowledge of the topic besides what they see in movies. As an introduction activity, I have students use jumbo Slinkys to model P and S waves. They have a great time using the Slinkys and it actually helps them remember how each moves.

Click on the link below to download the guided activity and questions.

I have decided to open a TPT store! I haven’t done it yet, but I have a question for everyone– would you rather buy a larger unit or individual, specific activities? Or both? Just wondering 🙂

2 responses to “Seismic Waves Intro Activity

  1. How did I miss this? I’m so happy you will have a TPT store!!

  2. Hi Kate –

    I always prefer individual activities, but that’s just me from the Middle School point of view!

    Lauren
    Life in Middle School

Leave a Reply

