Triangles Introduction

I love triangles. Isosceles triangles are my favorite in case you are wondering…I introduced triangles to my 6th graders last week. I broke out the geoboards and rubber bands (after a LONG conversation about not shooting rubber bands around the room) and gave the students this worksheet with different types of triangles to make.

The students LOVED having the freedom to work through the different activities on their own. I copied dot paper of the back so they could draw their triangles. I am so thankful that the PTO bought me a class set of geoboards this year and no one had to share!

Click on the picture below to download the PDF.

Enjoy your long weekend!!

5 responses to “Triangles Introduction

  1. What a great way to use geo boards! I found some in my room, when cleaning out the closest of death aka the inherited closet from past teachers. I’m pretty sure I won’t be teaching this unit in common core for 8th grade, but I will share it with my 7th grade teacher.

  2. Love this! I broke out the geoboards once this past school year but my class LOVED THEM and I definitely want to use them more next year!

  3. First of all I want to say that I absolutely love your blog! You have so many great ideas. I also teach 6th grade math and totally know where you are coming from. I have a “stupid” question but what programs do you use to create your documents? Again, I love your blog! Keep doing a great job!

  4. Yay for manipulative exploration!! That’s so important for them to do. Love this handout, especially the discussion question at the bottom.

Leave a Reply

