Summer To-Do List

Okay so everyone’s posts about setting up their classrooms and buying school supplies are FREAKING ME OUT. My last day of school was June 20th so I am exactly a month into vacation. We don’t go back until September, but all the sudden I feel like the summer is slipping away.

Anyway, some items on my summer to-do list include….

#1 Finish reading Understanding by Design by Grant Wiggins. My new school uses this framework and I want to make sure I am up to speed with everyone!

#2 Make a huge set of Show Me Wallets courtesy of 5th Grade Rocks, 5th Grade Rules. When I saw these last year, I knew I needed to make them and I never got around to it. Before the year begins I will totally have a huge set of them done!

#3 Make an awesome “I’m Finished…Now What?!” board ala Jess at Chalk Dust and Cheerios. I’m super excited for this one!

#4 I just found this idea from One Teacher’s Take yesterday and had a total “DUH” moment. WHY HAVE I NEVER THOUGHT OF THIS?! Doing it πŸ™‚

#5 I need to think of some cool and engaging home connection activities to send home. My 6th graders will just be starting middle school and supposedly there is a huge split between the families– some are SUPER involved and some are not involved at all. I would love to have some cool, fun math activities to send home for kids to earn prizes or extra credit or something. This is just an idea floating around my head that I would love to flesh out the details of.

#6 Make up some awesome activities/work stations that center around some of the cool Illustrative Mathematics problems! Yay for Common Core!

That’s it for now πŸ™‚ I know I will be adding to this list very soon! I will be away this weekend for one of my very best friend’s bridal shower! Happy almost wedding, Em!

3 responses to “Summer To-Do List

  1. You’ve got quite the list there! Don’t let the rest of us crazies keep you from enjoying your summer! You have pllllllenty of time;)

  2. Kate…I have been stalking your blog this summer πŸ™‚ I am a 6th math and science teacher in Louisiana and I am extremely interested in creating math stations in my classroom. We start August 15th so I am sort of under the gun. Do you have stations in your room? Are you interested in collaborating and creating some or do you know where I can get some already made? I would love to pick apart your brain for some ideas…(not in a creepy, stalker way). LOL Just let me know what you think!
    -Rachel

  3. Wow, June 20th! That’s pretty late! You have an amazing summer list! I have about 1 month left of summer, and I have yet to do ANYTHING for school :(. I’ve been SLOWLY reading a book…I need to speed things up so I can get working on stuff!

Leave a Reply

