Favorite Back to School Activity!

When I saw Fun in First was having a “Favorite Back to School Activity” linky party, I just had to join!

One of my favorite back to school activities is the Mathematical Me! Activity. I have done this in some form the past two years. I have each student answer questions that have numerical answers (such as How old are you?). They then have to create a math problem where their answer is also the answer to the problem. For example, I am 26 so my equation could be

The student answer about 10-20 questions like this. They then create their own pop quiz with 8 of their own questions as well as an answer key. The students then switch quizzes with a partner and answer the partner’s questions to find out more about the partner. Students then present 10 facts about their partner to the class. The catch is they have to discuss the answers with the partner to make sure they are correct AND to find out at least 2 more facts.

I decided to finally type all of this up and created this pack for my TpT store. It is geared towards upper elementary and middle school.

First person to comment and tell me how you would use this product gets it for free πŸ™‚

PS Thanks to everyone who nominated me for awards! I will be posting about them in the next day or two!

 

12 responses to “Favorite Back to School Activity!

  1. This is a great idea. I was thinking of stealing someone else’s idea of decorating the cover of our INs with numbers about us, but I doubt all students will have their notebooks right away. This would be a great first day activity in which they use math and get to know each other, and then they could refer to when decorating their covers later that week! 3 – in -1!

  2. I would love to use this for my algebra block class. It is also used to show what they know about different operations πŸ™‚ Block kids are lower than regular so it’s a sort of pre-test too!

  3. I would use this on the first week as a fun getting to know you activity.

  4. I am definitely going to try this!

  5. Awesome activity! I am going to try this!

  6. I loveee this! I’ve been on the hunt for back to school ideas that aren’t the same icebreaker ones you always hear about and this exactly the type of thing I’ve been looking for. Goes perfectly with the numbers about me cover too.

  7. LOVE this idea! I finally have found a math related activity!! Thank you so much for your creativity, will be using this for sure!

  8. Pingback: First days thoughts and ramblings. « The Old Gum Tree

  9. Pingback: MS Sunday Funday – First Day / First Week Activities | I Speak Math

Leave a Reply

