Cooperative Learning Management Strategy

If you follow me on Pinterest (my obsession), you may have seen this pin the other day:

I will admit that I didn’t even open the pin. I still haven’t, but the description said: “Use green, yellow, and red colored cups for group work. When a table gets too loud, change the cup to yellow. If the table continues to be too loud, the cup gets changed to red; this means a loss of group time. Students now have to do their work independently and silently. This is great and won’t punish the entire class.”

Um. Okay fine. That’s awesome. I was looking for a way to implement a system like this this year. Last year with my homeroom, I felt like I was constantly punishing the entire class during cooperative learning time, because there was so much talking (in my defense 90% of the class was talking and off task. Every.Single.Time.) I am hoping that this system will work when we do collaborative activities! I went to Five Below and picked up three packs of 14 party cups. They have this little section with party goods divided by color and everything is $1.50 each. Perfect. I made 6 sets. Of course I had to make cute labels.

Green is AWESOME

Yellow is a warning– to put a positive spin on it, the group should be REFOCUSING

Red is THE WORST haha I mean there is a consequence.

I just printed the labels off on my favorite ASTROBRIGHTS paper and taped them on using my favorite adhesive ever (yay! PACKING TAPE!)

Seriously, it took me like 15 minutes to make. Click on the picture below to download the labels for free!!

Okay and just because…

I picked up these cool white board/wipe off multiplication and division sets from Target. I mean I know all 6th graders are fluent in these facts (HAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHA omg I’m hilarious), but I figured they would be great to have as a time filler at the end of the period. I also picked up the 7th grade Brain Quest questions from Five Below. My kiddos are in 6th grade, but I always remember Brain Quest being SO EASY. Maybe I was just a baby genius, but I used to always use my brother’s set who was 3 years older than me.

Any maybe I bought these adorable Hello Kitty notecards from Michaels.

 

7 responses to “Cooperative Learning Management Strategy

  1. Side note-any chance that you’re going to make a set of common core posters for ELA? I started printing off and laminating the math set last night (and polished off that black ink cartridge that I bought last week, much to Matt’s dismay), and was thinking how awesome it would be to have mathing ELA posters. You would proabably be my favorite person ever. Just as an incentive. 🙂

    Laura
    Will Grade for Coffee

  2. Haha Kate! This post was amazing, your “voice” really came through. 🙂 I am working hard in first and second grades to get my class fluent in their addition and subtraction facts, so that’s something… right? 🙂

  3. What is FIVE BELOW and why have I never been there?! You’re the best teacher ever! Can Chaylee open enroll in the school you’re at so she can have you? 🙂 xo

  4. Great idea…love the cups and your labels, and will borrow both ideas for my class.

    On another note – I had a hard time reading your page through the bright pink chevron stripes… 😦 Maybe it’s just me getting old.

  5. Thanks for posting about my idea, though I am a little bummed you didn’t take the time to check it out in full. 🙂

Leave a Reply

