Basic Math Skills

I am loving teaching only one grade this year. It has been awesome having the chance to focus on the skills I need to teach and planning lessons based on the needs of my students. One thing I have really had a chance to focus on is my 6th grader’s need to be fluent in basic skills. It has been eye opening to see how many of my students lack basic addition, subtraction, multiplication and division skills. Many on my students are weak in algebraic reasoning. I have spent the day working on some activities I can use in class and send home with students to practice these skills.

One thing I have been working on are these mixed up equation activities. Each individual worksheet has students cut out 5 boxes with numbers and symbols. They have to use logic and reasoning to figure out what the equation is. Some of the problems actually have multiple answers. This is a great activity to get students discussing their answers. I have a few different addition, subtraction and multiplication packs in my TpT and Teachers Notebook Store.. Want to try it out for free? Click on the picture below to download the Subtracting Zero packet for free from my TpT store!

 

Click here to Download

 

 

One response to “Basic Math Skills

  1. It’s nearly impossible to find educated people about this topic, but you sound like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

