Comparing Decimals Using Models

I went to an AWESOME Kim Sutton workshop this summer! One of my favorite things she showed up was decimal models that she made using plastic canvas like this:

Not my hand!!!

I’m 98% sure that my grandma made this for me when I was little!

 

I made blocks of 100 to represent 1 whole, bars of 10 to represent tenths, and single squares to represent hundredths.

Sorry for the HORRIBLE iPhone picture 😦

I divided up bags of the different models and students worked with partners to build specific models. It was so great because they could VISUALLY see that 0.6 is much larger than 0.06!

Click on the picture below to download the guided worksheet below!

5 responses to “Comparing Decimals Using Models

  1. What a great idea! I have been searching for a way to help my strugglers understand decimals – the regular base 10 blocks were confusing to them because they associated them with whole numbers. Can’t wait to try this! Thanks for sharing, Sarah

  2. One question, in the picture, what was the red thread for?

  3. Where do you find the plastic/canvas material? Would a fabric or craft store carry this?

Leave a Reply

