Teachers Helping Teachers

I have trouble expressing in words how grateful and lucky I feel that my family and our home is safe. So much of Long Island and the east coast is completely destroyed. As I mentioned the other day, the city in which I teach is absolutely destroyed. We have no idea when we will be back in school– right now they are focusing on getting clean water, food, heat and electricity. When I found out the Laurah from The ESOL Odyssey was organizing a material collection for teachers impacted by Sandy, I was overwhelmed by the generosity of the blogging community.

Right now I feel pretty helpless. I can’t get to where my school is. This coming week the administration is going to try to have a staff meeting to figure things out. Honestly, I don’t know what my classroom looks like. My entire building is one floor and unfortunately, on the narrow island that my city occupies, every building is near the water. I am happily donating some of the more popular items from my TpT store in hopes that it will help teachers who can get back to school in the area! If you have a TpT store and want to donate something OR if you are a teacher who was effected by Sandy, PLEASE go to Laurah’s blog and fill out your information!

Stay safe and dry and warm 🙂

2 responses to “Teachers Helping Teachers

  1. Oh Kate, I am so sorry to hear this, Please let me know if there is anyway I can help! I’d be more than willing to share whatever I can – just let me know. ((hugs)) hang in there!

  2. I don’t have a TpT account but I would like to donate any supplies or money I can send to your school. Please let me know how to expedite this. Glad you are safe. I hope your kids are, too!

Leave a Reply

