Meet Jess!!

Remember when this used to be a math and SCIENCE blog?! Well, I am not teaching science this year. I loved sharing awesome science ideas on this blog and I am pretty sure you guys liked seeing them too. Although I haven’t taught much of anything but math lessons lately, I am lucky to have a best friend who is a science teacher!

Meet my BEST FRIEND, Jessica Smith!

247716_514738289789_1141135_n

She is an amazing science teacher and mama in Indianapolis! Jess and I met in grad school and pretty much have been BFFs ever since! Jess just opened an awesome TpT shop and I figured it would be pretty cool to interview her….with a fun giveaway 🙂 Enjoy!

What grade and subject do you teach? How long have you been teaching?

I teach 7th grade Science & Reading (my favorite subjects!!) & this is my 4th year teaching!!

 

What is your favorite part about teaching?

My favorite part of teaching is definitely interacting with the kids. Building fun yet mutually respectful relationships with these 7th graders is so fulfilling! I truly believe Middle Schoolers are the GREATEST!!

 

How do you incorporate other subjects into science?

Science is the best because you can easily incorporate reading strategies, math, & history all in one! The kids in our school need as much statistical math as possible, which is easy to tie into data collecting (graphs, finding percentages, mean/median/mode, etc.) Vocabulary is a HUGE part of my curriculum & figuring out meanings of science words using their word parts. Of course, there’s also so much history when talking about scientific discoveries and the scientists that have shaped our knowledge of concepts today. Gregor Mendel is my favorite 🙂

 

If you could give one piece of advice to a new teacher, what would it be?

IT GETS BETTER! I PROMISE!!! My 1st year of teaching was the most CHALLENGING/AWFUL year of my life (even more challenging than being a first time momma!). I remember late night lesson plans, feeling hopelessly alone without a professor constantly giving me feedback about my teaching, grading papers until I screamed, and lots of wine & bubble baths. Once you establish some core routine & base lessons, you will FLOURISH as a teacher and it will get better and better every year! USE YOUR RESOURCES and ASK FOR HELP. Take your good/fresh ideas, and RUN with them! Lastly, try your best to focus on the great kids in your class — it is SO easy to give so much of your time & attention to the booger heads. Be the teacher you want YOUR kid to have!

Seriously, HOW AMAZING IS SHE?! Want to find out? Check out Jess’ store and leave me a comment with your favorite product (make sure you include your e-mail address)! You have a chance to win a BFF METRIC COMBO PACK including…

The Bubble Gum Lab

Click picture to see full description

Click picture to see full description

Metric Mania Lab

Click the picture to see full description

Click the picture to see full description

Metric Units of Measure Journal

Click the picture to see full description

Click the picture to see full description

Signature Kate

4 responses to “Meet Jess!!

  1. I love all of you and your friends items and reading about what you guys do in your classroom. An inspiration!
    I love Jess’s mythbusters post and sheet. I used it in class and the kids loved it. I too live in Indianapolis…
    I can’t wait to use the bubble gum lab! Looks great!

  2. Oh I forgot my email… Juleslovebug@aol.com

  3. I’ve been surfing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any
    interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough forr me.

    In my opinion, if aall webzite owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web
    will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  4. I like to share knowledge that I’ve accumulated through the
    12 months to assist improve group functionality.

Leave a Reply

