Mechanical Weathering!

Sometimes I have to teach Science concepts that I love and find fascinating and the students think are terrible and boring (ahem the entire Earth Science curriculum). My students LOVE making foldables– even if they end up doing the exact same work as they would if they were just taking notes, it is SO MUCH COOLER (aka engaging) if they get to fold up some paper and use fancy pens. In the middle of our weathering section, the kids got to make ICE WEDGING FOLDABLES (sense the excitement?!) Most students did an awesome job with this– and even better, they could EXPLAIN ice wedging to me!

 

In the 3 examples above you can see that students illustrated the 3 steps and under each flap, wrote about what was occurring. After my first attempt of creating foldables with my classes, I realized with only 35 minutes to teach, it could take almost the entire period for the whole class to correctly fold their paper. This is why I make the actual foldable templates for each student and let them crease and cut. I have included two files– the ICE WEDGING foldable as well as a blank tri-fold foldable templates just incase you happen to NOT be teaching about ICE WEDGING in the near future! Click on each picture below to download the PDFs

Mechanical Weathering: Ice Wedging Tri-Fold

Blank Tri-Fold Foldable

Kate

P.S. I promise to never mention ICE WEDGING as much as I just did in this post!!

5 responses to “Mechanical Weathering!

  1. I love how you premade the templates–it can take them forever to cut sometimes!! This is very cool!
    Kristen

  2. I just want this foldable idea! We have interactive science notebooks that they make foldables & glue in…. CONSIDER THIS STOLEN.

    And you’re 100% right…. give them paper, markers, and glue and note-taking becomes the best thing ever.

    • I want to talk to you more about interactive notebooks. My kids don’t have official interactive notebooks, but we do a lot of activities that are similar. I need you to guide me!

  3. Thank you so much for the blank template! I used this today with a high school Algebra 1 class to review the three ways we had learned to find slope. It was a big hit with the students! As I went around to help them with their homework, I was able to reference the foldable we had just made to find the right equation for slope.

    I can’t wait to try more of these foldable ideas!

  4. Pingback: States of Matter Tri-Foldable | tothesquareinch

Leave a comment