Perfect Percent Patchworks

It’s been too long! I’ve missed my dear blog and blog stalking! I was in wedding prep mode for the last week or so. This weekend I flew to Cleveland for my best friend Tara’s wedding!! I didn’t get back until last night, so since then it’s been go, go, go getting ready for the school week.

Today I thought that I would share a percent activity I did with my 6th graders shortly after introducing percents. Students created their own 10 x 10 patchwork squares using at least 4 colors. Students then found the percent of each color and the fraction and simplified the fraction.

I let students plan out their patch on scrap graph paper first and then create the design on the patch. They really enjoyed this project and we often refer back to it as we work through our percents chapter. Click on the picture below to download the PDF file.

Enjoy!

3 responses to “Perfect Percent Patchworks

  1. This is AWESOME. Beautiful!

    Hope you’ll post it at Math Monday. It’ll be up later today. 🙂

  2. I love this! They are so pretty and functional!

  3. lesliekindergartenworks

    Beautiful!

Leave a comment